Color Detection using LabVIEW

newbiwan

Hi experts in the forums,

I am tasked with a project that requires me to:

a.       Measure the color of the targeted surface which has faded/eroded/deteriorated.

b.       Convert the color tone of the targeted surface into paint formula.

c.       Determine the color pigments to be added to the base color of the targeted surface to recreate the color on the targeted surface which has aged.

I have decided to use a webcam as a spectrometer is not available for my use..

I have LabVIEW 2014 but i have never used it before and still am figuring my way around it.

My LabVIEW does not have the vision and motion package, is it still possible to do it using LabVIEW?

Can anyone please give me advice on where to start?

Sure.  So parts of the vision toolkit are free.  Basically any image manipulation is what the extra cost is, but I'm pretty sure you can acquire without needing anything extra.  I'm not certain but I think these links will help.

http://www.ni.com/example/30030/en/

https://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/Capturing-live-image-from-integrated-Webcam-using-Labview/td-p/2066668

I think the free part of the vision toolkit is called VAS, Vision Acquisition Software.  There was a thread on LAVA at one point talking about it but I can't seem to find it.

I think the free part of the vision toolkit is called VAS, Vision Acquisition Software.  There was a thread on LAVA at one point talking about it but I can't seem to find it.

You might be referring to this thread.  Regardless, I linked at the end to the free vision functions which I think is what the OP is looking for to get started.

If you want to go the NI route....

I've recently been dealing with the headache that is Vision related licensing. Here is what I understand it to be. The terminology is VERY confusing, so you'll have to deal with me.