Report Git delete branch after merging Pull Request in Source Code Control Posted January 19 3 hours ago, Neil Pate said: I still don't really get this. I want to see the branches when I look in the past. If the branch on the remote is deleted then I lose a bit of the story of how the code got to that state don't I? 1 hour ago, pawhan11 said: Branch for git means just an link to a commit. This is exactly right. A branch points at a commit, and the commit to which it points changes as additional commits are added to the branch. You can reset a branch to point at any arbitrary commit, even one in what you might think of as a different branch, because again, it's just a reference to a commit. Deleting a branch removes the reference with no impact on the sequence of commits. In case you want to make things more complicated, git supports an alternate mechanism to merging branches, where code is "rebased" rather than "merged" so the eventual history looks like a single continuous line rather than a tree.