Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
asuwish4

Accidently losing your UNDOs

Recommended Posts

We all (should) know that saving your vi, zeroes your undos for that vi.

However, it turns out that merely getting to the SAVE or SAVE AS dialog box zeroes it as well. Accidently clicking on SAVE (when working on a previously unsaved vi) or SAVE AS (while working on any vi) and then pressing CANCEL, will zero your undos as well.

I discovered it in 6.1 and it still does it in 7.0. I do not have 7.1 but I believe someone had mentioned the bug is still extant in 7.1 as well.

Steps for reproducing the bug:

1. open a blank vi

2. drop a few controls or indicators on the front panel

3. click FILE->SAVE or Cntrl-S

4. When the dialog box opens, click CANCEL

5. press Cntrl-Z

Nothing happens. go to EDIT->UNDO and it is greyed-out.

This also happens will an existing saved vi that you make chages to and then try to SAVE AS.

It seems any time the file dialog box is displayed for saving, the undos are reset - whether you actually save it or not.

Chuck Spitaleri

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We all (should) know that saving your vi, zeroes your undos for that vi.

However, it turns out that merely getting to the SAVE or SAVE AS dialog box zeroes it as well. Accidently clicking on SAVE (when working on a previously unsaved vi) or SAVE AS (while working on any vi) and then pressing CANCEL, will zero your undos as well.

I discovered it in 6.1 and it still does it in 7.0. I do not have 7.1 but I believe someone had mentioned the bug is still extant in 7.1 as well.

Steps for reproducing the bug:

1. open a blank vi

2. drop a few controls or indicators on the front panel

3. click FILE->SAVE or Cntrl-S

4. When the dialog box opens, click CANCEL

5. press Cntrl-Z

Nothing happens. go to EDIT->UNDO and it is greyed-out.

This also happens will an existing saved vi that you make chages to and then try to SAVE AS.

It seems any time the file dialog box is displayed for saving, the undos are reset - whether you actually save it or not.

Chuck Spitaleri

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
It seems any time the file dialog box is displayed for saving, the undos are reset - whether you actually save it or not.

Same problem in Labview 7.1

The only Save-box where it doesnt occur when you cancel is "Save with options"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.