Buffer overflow serial communication

mqamar

I input a command (ex: *TST?) in labVIEW and run the serial communication VI example. The output after a clean run should be '0'. But, it says that there is some kind of buffer overflow. My bytes to read is set to 4. I change this to many different numbers, and i still get the same error. Now, if i change this byte read number to 0, the simulation runs fine, with no error. What does this mean???!

Also, do my labVIEW "baud rate" and device "baud rate" have to be the same? i am new to labVIEW altogether, so i dont even know what baud rate is.

My other guess was that the buffer/register of my device (power meter) might have information in it already, so i tried to clear it by the clear commands using the device's manual, that didnt do anything either.

Also, does it make a difference if the termintion character is ON or OFF under the subVI of "VISA Serial" ? i mean, either way, i get the same buffer overflow error.

Anyway, this is all the stuff i have done and make gotten the same error. After reading this, do you have any other suggestion? i am kinda stumped at this point. Do you think that i shouldnt be even using that example serial comm.VI. Any kind of suggestion that might give me any insight will be greatly appreciated. THANKS!

P.S. I have tried manipulating the Tranfer Buffer size and Recieve Buffer size from the advanced options from the device manager in windows, (i am using Win 2000 Pro.) ... but still i get the over flow!!! :headbang:

Hi Mqamar:

May not be able to answer all your questions, but here is some information that may help:

Definitely the baud rate of both devices has to be the same. Baud rate is the speed at which the communications between the two gadgets occurs (in bits per second) If they are not set to the same rate, they can't talk. (This isn't special to LabView-- just a basic truth of serial communications.)