Hi all,

I am doing a summer project in which I have to pass clusters to LabVIEW.

Since I have to pass am image so one data type is common to each cluster

,i.e., a dynamic array (signifying image) which needs to be resized according to the size of image.

I am a novice to labVIEW (just started one week ago).

So What do you people suggest whether I should go with DLL or CIN to pass the cluster to VI??

Reason for pointing this question:

http://zone.ni.com/r...s_vs_clf_nodes/ says

"You can pass arbitrarily complex data structures to and from a CIN.

In some cases, you might have higher performance using CINs because

data structures pass to the CIN in the same format that they are stored in LabVIEW."

while other documents/forums says that

"It is quite difficult to pass a structure containing an array/string to LabVIEW (which is the case with DLL)".

Please do tell me because my mentors have never used CIN.

Also, they never passed any cluster containing array/string as its member using call library nodes.

Thanks in advance

Edited by prashant_bhutani

Reason for pointing this question:

http://zone.ni.com/r...s_vs_clf_nodes/ says

"You can pass arbitrarily complex data structures to and from a CIN.

In some cases, you might have higher performance using CINs because

data structures pass to the CIN in the same format that they are stored in LabVIEW."

while other documents/forums says that

"It is quite difficult to pass a structure containing an array/string to LabVIEW (which is the case with DLL)".

You mix two very different things together here.

The first sentence is in fact a little outdated and only telling you half the truth although technically still correct.

Because you can pass LabVIEW native datatypes to DLLs since about LabVIEW 5 too. That is when they added the "Adapt to Datatype" to the Call Library Node and since then the CLN is in fact equivalent in this aspect to CINs.