Tortoise-SVN, tagging [only] top-level VI dependencies

Greetings!,

A quick search didn't reveal any titles appearing to address this specific question...

My application's source-code is organized under two directories - a project-specific directory where all the sub-VIs and directories are part of the application, and a "utility" directory which contains a hierarchy of generic functions used by many projects.

When releasing an application revision, (i think) it's necessary to create a tag in order to obtain a snapshot of applicable VIs, however, if the tag is applied to the "generic" folder, it will be applied to many VIs, the majority of which are not applicable to the release.

I'm relatively new to SVN and wondering if SVN and LabVIEW can be integrated in a way that would allow a tag to be applied to [only] the dependencies of a top-level VI.

Any ideas, including alternative approaches, are welcomed!

What if your utility VIs change? Every time you update reuse VIs, you run the risk of breaking code that calls it.

Seems to me like it would be a good audit of how your reuse VIs are being used as well, so long as your tags are along the lines of "applicationname-beta-n" instead of just "beta-b".

What if your utility VIs change? Every time you update reuse VIs, you run the risk of breaking code that calls it.

Seems to me like it would be a good audit of how your reuse VIs are being used as well, so long as your tags are along the lines of "applicationname-beta-n" instead of just "beta-b".

asbo -

Ouch! - Yes, this shared-area, open for edit, is a liability. Of course edits can be made with existing code in mind.

While I'd like to create/control application-specific instances (of generic VIs) with a release, I've no idea how this would be handled as far as (unique) VI naming/organization, or how I'd track every usage of a generic VI, in case it needs a bug-fix.

Again, any/all ideas are welcome.