Need 64-bit Memory Monitor

Cat

I am in dire need of a way to get the available physical memory on a 64-bit computer. I've always used lvwutil32.dll, but obviously that won't work on a 64-bit machine. I thought I had figured out a .NET widget to use for both 32-bit and 64-bit (System.Diagnostics.PerformanceCounter-->Available Physical Memory). It works, but it is sloooooooow. Takes 30 seconds to do what lvutil32.dll would do in a couple seconds. I am admittedly a complete newbie at .NET, so I could be doing something wrong.

I would love something that will work for both 32/64-bit, but at this point would settle for it just working on a 64-bit machine. Anyone out there have anything?

Cat

Have you tried using the Windows API? The function GetProcessMemoryInfo is a likely candidate.

Well, right, tho I would probably use GlobalMemoryStatusEx, since it is overall system free physical memory that I am looking for. It, however, uses kernel32.dll and I'm going to have to keep my fingers crossed that it's going to work on a 64-bit machine (with more than 4GB memory).

Looks like I'm going to have to dust off my notes on how to code up a Call Library Function node. :book:

This isn't a terribly complex API call, so I doubt you'll need this, but I had a play at it. The cluster should be typedef'd, but ehhhh. If you use this and your computer explodes, I am not liable, etc etc. I've only tested it on Windows 7 x86, LV 8.6 and LV2009.

A customer has had me doing a lot of API-based stuff lately, so I've developed a sick fascination with these. I had a pipe-dream of developing a ShellIcon library in LV, that might come to fruition soon.

GlobalMemoryStatusEx.vi

Get Win32 Error Message.vi

Edited by asbo
  • Like 1

This isn't a terribly complex API call, so I doubt you'll need this, but I had a play at it.