IMAQ for IEEE 1394 problem

Hi.

I'm new to LV and am using version 7.0 with NI IMAQ for IEEE 1394 ver 2.0.1

I'm trying to write a front end to allow recording of a sequence of raw images captured in format 7 mode 0 (1360*1024, 12bit monochrome) from a Prosilca EC1380.

I've started based on the example for "Grab and Save to AVI" provided with the IMAQ 1394.

I'm having a few problems:

1) is there a limitation on writing frames of type 16-bit grayscale (1360*1024px) to uncompressed AVI? I get an error "Incompatible Image Type" from the IMAQ AVI write frame.vi whenever I try running in full screen 16 bit mode.

2) is there a way to make a histogram appear/disappear on button click (for interface reasons - screen real estate).

3) The property nodes seem to have little effect on the captured image. For example, I try to change the shutter speed while vi is runing and it has no effect. Anyone has any ideas?

I'm adding a screen shot of my VI.

Thanks a lot for any input.

Ben.

ADMIN EDIT: Re-attached Thumbnailed Image

Please see here for proper image attachment.

post-2-1162373274.png?width=400

3) The property nodes seem to have little effect on the captured image. For example, I try to change the shutter speed while vi is runing and it has no effect. Anyone has any ideas?
Many attributes for some camera's cannot be changed on the fly, only before or after an acquisition.
I'm adding a screen shot of my VI.
You usually get more help, quicker, if you post the actual VI.
Many attributes for some camera's cannot be changed on the fly, only before or after an acquisition.

You usually get more help, quicker, if you post the actual VI.

I haven't tried yet, but I think putting the property node inside the while loop should help. Silly me not thinking about that beforehand.

Thank you. I will put the VI in the future.

Ben.