Questions about IVI--How to Control the Devices?

xtal

Hi, everyone!

I'm now needing to write a program to control two devices: Agilent E4438C and E4448A.

My Supervisor said I can use IVI to try first since it could be run in simulation mode.

However, I'm quite new to LabVIEW and only know a little about it. I'm so totally lost...

I know I need to find some documentations, examples or specifications to get a rough idea about the implementation of IVI and try some exist examples...However, I do not know where to find such things quickly and helpfully.

It's always time-consuming for me to search around the Internet...

So could anyone give me some suggestions or recommend some materials to read?

Thanks!

Hi Pockey,

First, open LabVIEW, go to tools, instrumentation, find instrument drivers. I found the a driver for the first Agilent device you mentioned. Good luck with the second one. To download the drivers you will be prompted to create a user name on www.ni.com. You can also search the website for the device drivers. After you have the drivers, look at some of the examples that come with them (Usually good drivers come with a "get started" vi.)

LabVIEW is really fun and I welcome you to the community. Enjoy!

Ami

Thanks, Ami

Why I could not find the one you said for Agilent E4438C?

In the installed instrument drivers, I could only find Agilent 34401, is it the one for E4438C???

And on the webpage of instrument drivers, http://sine.ni.com/idnetwork/main/p/sn/n25:A.agilent

I still could not find the corresponding drivers for E4438C&E4448A...

Does that mean there's no such drivers for the two devices? Then how could I get to know them and learn to control them as well??

NI also offers a LabVIEW Instrument Control course (you can buy just the manual/software separately for self-paced learning) that describes the different communication/driver types such as VISA, GPIB, IVI, etc. and has many exercises to get comfortable with each.

Thanks, Ami