calling dll which returns a struct

Hi all,

I searched high and low in NI's website for solutions for calling a DLL which returns a struct (the DLL is for third party SMU cards). I wonder if it is alright to ask here for some guidelines. I have never used C before and has relied on NI LabVIEW and NI's cards for most of the work done. Appreciate the help.

Here is the a snippet of the header file for the DLL. As shown below the struct contains a float,float and short

typedef struct SMUmeasurement

{

float Voltage;

float Current;

short MeasurementStatus;

} SMUmeasurement;

and here is the function that returns the struct value:

SMUmeasurement WINAPI MeasureAvrgVandI_SMU_DM200(short DeviceID, short SampleCount);

When I used the LabVIEW 8.5 dll import wizard, I found out that it only returns a unsigned integer instead of a nice cluster. Please see attached image.

Thanks for the guidance,

Regards,

Philip

QUOTE (GorionQuest @ Mar 21 2008, 12:02 AM)

Hi all,

I searched high and low in NI's website for solutions for calling a DLL which returns a struct (the DLL is for third party SMU cards). I wonder if it is alright to ask here for some guidelines. I have never used C before and has relied on NI LabVIEW and NI's cards for most of the work done. Appreciate the help.

Here is the a snippet of the header file for the DLL. As shown below the struct contains a float,float and short

typedef struct SMUmeasurement

{

float Voltage;

float Current;

short MeasurementStatus;

} SMUmeasurement;

and here is the function that returns the struct value:

SMUmeasurement WINAPI MeasureAvrgVandI_SMU_DM200(short DeviceID, short SampleCount);

When I used the LabVIEW 8.5 dll import wizard, I found out that it only returns a unsigned integer instead of a nice cluster. Please see attached image.

Thanks for the guidance,

Regards,

Philip