Accessing USB FLASH DRIVE and it .dat file content

QUOTE (rejgina @ Apr 24 2008, 11:38 AM)

Hi guys, Good day!I have a problem.. I'm a new programmer of Labview. how can i access the USB FLASH DRIVE and the .dat file content by using the Labview.Hope you can help me. Thanks! Kind Regards,rejgina :lightbulb:

If your USB drive is (for example) installed as "E:", then a simple file open with E:\YourFilePath.dat should do it.

Do you need to know which Drive letter is assigned? You can get the drives by listing the Directories without specifying a path. You can then try to get the label anme of each one to find the USB drive you require...... (theory)

Ah, I just tried doing what I'm proposing, but I don't know how to get the Volume label from the Volume letter...... There's no "Get Volume Label" function.

It would be possible via a DOS Batch file or something, but I don't think there's a built-in LV function for it.

I looked under LV 8.20.

Shane.

Hi Shane,

Thank you for your reply...

I think I didn't explain right the question..

First I have a file (Myfile.dat) and it is constantly inserted... (E:\Myfile.dat)

What I need to do is to detect if the flash drive is already inserted so that I can read the file(E:\Myfile.dat) and then proceed to the testing..

I have read here taht i need to have awhile loop until the value for example set to true meaning it is inserted... But its oo complicated.. can you help me? Thanks!

rejgina :lightbulb:

QUOTE (rejgina @ Apr 28 2008, 12:18 AM)

Hi Shane,

Thank you for your reply...

I think I didn't explain right the question..

First I have a file (Myfile.dat) and it is constantly inserted... (E:\Myfile.dat)

What I need to do is to detect if the flash drive is already inserted so that I can read the file(E:\Myfile.dat) and then proceed to the testing..

I have read here taht i need to have awhile loop until the value for example set to true meaning it is inserted... But its oo complicated.. can you help me? Thanks!