An overwhelmed newbie's VI doesn't work

uby

Hello,

I am a grad student who is essentially LabView illiterate. I've spent awhile trying to pick up what I need from the example VIs and tutorials, but I simply do not have the experience in the program yet to competently setup a VI that I need to get working. Here is, briefly, what I am intending to do:

1) I've taken three outputs from a very old instrument and checked that they are functioning properly and in the proper voltage ranges. One is a trigger to begin data acquisition, one is a pulse train (that I need to count), the other is an analog voltage (that I need to continuously sample while counting).

(a) I am using a NI USB-6009 DAQ to measure the analog voltage and I have also put the trigger in here.

(b) I have an Agilent 53131A counter hooked up to the computer via a GPIB:USB interface. The computer reads this just like a GPIB interface. This instrument is complete overkill for what I need it to do, but it's what I have to work with! With an auto trigger gate, the instrument counts just fine.

2) I have installed the relevant drivers for both instruments. The Agilent device has been successfully configured to send information via NI 488.2 standard.

3) I have built a simple VI to take measurements. It does not work. Here is how I set it up: copied+pasted from the agilent VI example the function/arm totalize/stop totalize/initiate blocks. These take the user inputs for the GPIB address, what to do (totalize means count), and when to stop. This is passed to a read measurement within a while loop instructing it to continue until a certain count is reached. Also in the loop is a DAQ assistant function setup to measure the voltage triggered by the trigger channel on the NI DAQ. I've attached the VI and two images.

Here are my problems: