Fully event-driven VIs with inter-communication

Hi, everyone!

I am a newcomer in this forum. Although I played with Labview about ten years ago, I have used TestPoint for remote controlling my lab (I am a physicist) during the last ten years. I am now switching back to Labview (8.5) and have difficulties in finding the proper robust architecture fullfilling all my requirements (it must come from the fact I am used to event-flow oriented progamming rather than to data-flow oriented programming).

My requirements are the following:

- to make VIs of complex instruments that respond to several commands on demand (at any time)

- to have VIs that self update their front panel when the actual instrument (not the VI) is manually controlled

- to control an already running VI directly from its front panel or remotely from another VI as well

- to be able to remotely use VIs provided by device manufacturers without modifying (or even looking at) the code

- not to load too much the processor when the VIs have nothing to do, so that the processor can be used for data processing in other programs (C or matlab).

I came to the conclusion I had to build one event-driven VI per Instrument (that manages only local front panel events), and one event-driven super VI per application (that sends command and gets data from the other VIs through the VI server).

I have tried to implement the simplest example of such an architecture and came up with something that seems very complicated to me. So I hope some of you will be able to give me useful advices and to redirect my work in simpler directions. Attached is a screenshot with my two VIs playing the role of an Instrument (VI1) and of an application (VI2)controlling the instrument.

Both VIs are built as an init-body-close sequence with the body being an event-loop that ends when a stop button is pushed.