video processing in labview?

Ok, so i'm fairly new to labview so please excuse my lack of experience or understanding.

My team is trying to hook up an AXIS207 Network Camera to a computer and process the image. The camera gets hooked up via an ethernet cable to the network. We can view the image that the camera sees and edit the camera settings by going to it's static IP in the local network. However, what nobody around here can figure out is how to see this image in labview. We have a VI developed to process the image on a different camera, but we need something smaller, which is why we're trying to set up the Axis camera. AXIS uses ActiveX to view the feed from the camera, i believe.

If anyone can help me understand what i need to do in order to view the image in labview i would greatly appreciate it. This seems pretty simple to me, at least it does in my head, but i can't figure out how to do this in labview. Thank you.

Hi CRBreingan

I have not used the Axis video camera, but I have written some code for the Axis video servers. You wil have to use a ActiveX controller and link this to the AxisMediaControl class. Please see the attached image to see how I connect to the videoserver. You must also install the Axis Media Control SDK on your computer. After you have installed the Axis Media Control you will find a help file for the SDK under Programfiles/AxisComunication/AxisMedia Control SDK.

Hope this helps

Best regards Whaler

post-12561-1221636054.jpg?width=400

QUOTE (CRBreingan @ Sep 16 2008, 06:30 PM)

Is the camera compatible with http://sine.ni.com/nips/cds/view/p/lang/en/nid/12892' target="_blank">NI Vision Acquisition? If so, I suggest you use it - it'll make you life a whole lot easier than screwing around with low-level activeX calls, and is feature rich.

QUOTE (crelf @ Sep 17 2008, 01:36 PM)

Uh... Sounds great! If i can download an image from a website that'd be perfect! But the datascoket that you linked has been "moved or deleted." Any tips?