help regarding serial communication

vijay shankar

hi everyone,

i am new to labview and i am from computer science department.. i didnt have any idea about labview a few days back.. but a conventional computer science programmer familiar with other programming languages..

i need to develop a project in labview to access a controller ( a TEC controller in my case) from my machine..

I have a serial port in the controller, but i dont have any adapter for that..

I need to develop the program in an XP system and so i just need an idea of how to go about this project.

I basically have the following questions,

1. to connect the controller to my system, do i need a rs232 cable (from the company?).

if so, do i need a PCI card installed in the system? any specific card?

or can i have a rs232 to usb adapter and plug that into my system and still develop my project in labview?

2. to program in labview, should i need a instrument driver to send commands to the controller?

if there is something of this sort, then what should i get from the vendor who supplied the controller for me..

to be specific, the controller is a series 800 thermaoelectric cooler controller from alpha omega instruments

QUOTE (vijay shankar @ Nov 1 2008, 12:49 PM)

I have a serial port in the controller, but i dont have any adapter for that..

I need to develop the program in an XP system and so i just need an idea of how to go about this project.

I basically have the following questions,

1. to connect the controller to my system, do i need a rs232 cable (from the company?).

if so, do i need a PCI card installed in the system? any specific card?

or can i have a rs232 to usb adapter and plug that into my system and still develop my project in labview?

2. to program in labview, should i need a instrument driver to send commands to the controller?

if there is something of this sort, then what should i get from the vendor who supplied the controller for me..