Tips on improving

MartinMcD

Hi everyone,

I rarely post on the site but I do spend a fair bit of time reading through other peoples' posts.

I've been using Labview for ~4 years and I'm sitting the CLD exam in a month or so. I want to get to a high level with Labview as at the moment I seem to have been stuck at the same intermediate level for ages. I was hoping somebody could throw in some advice on how to progress, what has worked for you, what you wish you'd realised sooner etc.

I attended the Intermediate I&II course at NI in the autumn and I have a software background but I only do pretty small projects at work - which I tend to over complicate so I get to learn something new.

If you have a spare minute I'd be really pleased to hear any thoughts.

Kind regards,

Martin

NI's exams are based on their training materials. If you've taken the classes (and really understand the concepts involved), then your best bet is to go back and thoroughly review the manuals. Your ability to accurately and thoroughly regurgitate the training concepts will facilitate your passing the exams.

The majority of the most useful and practical stuff that I've learned over the years has come from the examples that ship with LabVIEW. Mind you, most of this won't help you with the CLD exam, but it can greatly expand your knowledge of various techniques and approaches.

[...] I'm somewhat nervous about passing this exam!

Martin,

I was nervous when I took the exam, so I understand (at least, in part) how you're feeling.  Your four years of experience may put you ahead of where I was (with <1 year) when I passed it. The graders were, thankfully, more compassionate than I would have been were I grading my own submission.  I don't want to lull you into a false sense of security, but also want to let you rest assured that it's a fair test of your ability to implement the fundamentals and not a horrible weeding-out process.  Good luck :).

Jim