PLC or CompactRIO

Whooly

Hi All!

I would like to ask for a little help. I’ve been developing LV RT application with PXI systems for 4 years. Now our company won a bigger assembly line project. The products will moved with a chain conveyor system between the assembly stations and the testbench. Rfid identification will be in each important location for storing state information. The system should communicate with tightening spindles over Profibus. There will be cylinders, optical sensors, 1-2 hundreds digital I/O signal and a testbench with RT PXI system.

What type of control system should we use? This is a typical PLC project but our NI sales manager recommended CompactRIO. I searched for customer’s solutions built with cRIO on the ni.com but i haven’t found similar projects. Mostly cRIO used for high speed daq and control with FPGA. Does cRIO able to deal with a lot of parallel tasks and communicate over Profibus, handle RFID readers? I think FPGA can make programming difficult.

Sorry for bad english :)

Whooly

Programming LabVIEW RT on cRIO is very similar to PXI when it comes to good design, running multiple processes, memory management, communication, etc. The main difference is that the processor is not as fast.

You are correct that if you need to program the FPGA for your application it will add a little complexity to your development process, specifically learning the differences between programming LV FPGA and LV RT/Windows.

If you are using NI analog and digital modules on cRIO you most likely wouldn't need to program the FPGA and can use the ScanEngine instead. The ScanEngine is a process which runs on the cRIO processor and communicates through the FPGA to I/O modules and provides single point access to I/O channels using I/O variables in LV RT. It is limited to lower acquisition rates (<1 kHz) but that should be adequate for the application you describe.

Does cRIO able to deal with a lot of parallel tasks