Read serial data from multiple machines via TCP/IP

mattcg1

Hi All,

Labview very newbie here. Background is very strong in AB and Siemens PLCs.

I have to read and log RS-232 serial machine data into a Labview PC via Ethernet.

Currently, I have six process machines on the floor, using AB SLC PLCs. We print locally to a serial printer via AB BASIC module serial port, ASCII mode, at 9k6 baud, no handshaking. There are plans to double the number of machines to 12 by end of '06. The goal is to eliminate the troublesome local printers and capture and archive all process report data electronically.

Each print line in the report can vary from 10-40 ASCII characters in length. Number of lines and print interval varies- start of process report may print 30 lines, in process report may print 1-3 lines at a time interval from 30 seconds to 5 minutes, 3 line alarm prints as occuring, and end of process report 40 print lines.

My plan is to use a RS-232 splitter to pick off the serial data to printer. I plan to then take the data into a serial-to-Ethernet converter (B&B Electronics or Lantronics -is either better?).

Labview must listen to PC port, and when a specific start of process control character is detected from the unique IP address, begin logging serial data to file. After a specific end of process character is detected, or data comms tineout, close file. Then, listen for next start of process character from that machine and repeat. Note: All machines may be running simultaneously.

My questions:

1. Is this a sound approach using Labview?

2. What is most effiecient way to configure a Labview TCP server to listen to a user-selected number of Ethernet devices; i.e. define the individual IP address from LV control panel as additional machines are brought on-line. Do I simply replicate the code, or can this be done programatically?

3. Beside "loss of comms timeout alarm", what are other commonly used error detections for this type of app?