LabVIEW 8 Student Edition - Comments for a newbie?

Hello,

I'm new here and am new to LabVIEW. I am a robotics hobbiest and am considering purchasing LabVIEW 8 Student Edition to advance some of my projects. As a student, I qualify for the cheaper edition, but am always leary when a $1,000 to $4,000 software package sells for $80. Is it the same? What are the all of the additional parts, add-ons, modules surrounding the full, Professional editions? Pretty clueless, eh?

So, I'm a proficient computer user and have written a number of robotic interface applications in VB6 with good success. While VB6 will probably work for everything I'm trying to accomplish, it is painfully tedious and research-intensive to get even moderately complex functions to work predictably.

Which brings me here. . . I'm looking for a more straigtforward approach to developing the networked, I/O functions associated with telerobitics and so far, it appears LabVIEW may be the answer. Initially, I'm hoping to do the following: Link PCs wirelessly, share data back-and-forth between them, utilize the serial and USB ports for general I/O functions, and have graphical representation of signals and running processes. I would also like to add real-time video and some automated control loops for local control.

I'm currently reading the NI pdf documentation and the concepts are pretty clear, but I figured a few well-informed users could probably give me a useful direction much quicker. :worship:

Sound feasible? Any words of wisdom, suggestions, tell me what to go do with myself? Feedback and details are much appreciated.

Thanks much!