Greetings to all

Hello,

I heard about this Website through a LabVIEW Developer's Day I attended in Milwaukee, WI last week.

After signing up and receiveing the 'Welcome" PM fromt he Admin, I thought I would take his advice and post a short bit about myself.

I have been working With LabVIEW since 1995-1996, it was version 3.1 at the time. I remember taking the LabVIE Basics and Advanced Course in February of 1996, I still have the books!!!

I was Workign for Motorola at the time, and had just moving into a Test Engineering Group. I was a Tech in that group with the main responsibilties of Test System support (mostly hardware). While in that Group I was able to take over some of the assemblies and create tests using LabVIEW, Other int he group had built a decent User interface and we had several guidelines as to what we were able to do and not do. So my LabVIEW Exploring was somewhat limited. I never learning any other Programming Language in College so Most of my LabVIEW experience has been Trial and error and when at Motorola, asking a few other with a bit more knowledge.

I stayed at Motorola until I was laid off in 2003. The last 3 years while there I was in a group where I was not able to use LabVIEW much. When I left I think the group I was in still was using 6.0 or 6.1.

After 16 months of searching a landed a job at a smaller company. Here they had one Version of 6.0 FDS LabVIEW. the tests were very basic, the operator still read a procedure and operated Toggle switches ont he screen to run the DAQ cards.

I was tasked with making it better. Then they had 4 different assemblies that was tested that way (2 pair share a fixture) Now We are up to 11 Assemblies across 4 fixtures. The most the operator has to do is enter the Serial # and revision and the test runs itself. I am the Only Test Engineer here and the only one with LabVIEW knowledge. I guess that makes for good job security.