Multimeter serial communication

gianmarco

Hi, I'm a beginner of Labview (8.2) and I'm trying to controll a Digital Multimeter DVM345DI ex Velleman (alias MAS34-xx ex Mastech I found both the vendors supply the same nstrument produced somewhere in China).

The instrument uses a RS232C serial interface that works with a software called Mas-View. The communication specs are the following:

RS232C Interface protocol

3-1. MAS34X series

Mode : 600,n,7,2

Format : Ascii Code

Total : 14 bytes

Whenever any one byte received from P/C, output 14 bytes.

BYTE 1-2 : MEASURING MODE (ex;DC,AC,OH,CA,TE...)

BYTE 4 : SIGN(-)

BYTE 5-9 : Decimal point and value

Current measurement value(ex;10.00, OL.,3.999)

BYTE 10-13 : Unit (ex; mV,A,KOHM,nF...)

BYTE 14 : Carriage Return

Note : Interval time over 1 second is required for stable

measuring data from the meter.

I also made a Matlab code that is working fine :

s = serial('COM4');

s.BaudRate=600;

s.StopBits=2;

s.Timeout=10;

s.Terminator='';

s.DataBits=7;

s.ReadAsyncMode = 'continuous';

get(s,{'BaudRate','DataBits','Parity','StopBits','Terminator'});

fopen(s);

fprintf(s,'D');

s.BytesAvailable;

out = fscanf(s) % es DC -0.000 V

fclose(s);

Now, I would like get the same thing with Labview. I did the code start.vi with a modified driver for the serial communication (both enclosed).

Nothing to do, I cannot succed. I suppose I have some parameters wrong in the .vi code. I always get:

Error -1073807253 occurred at VISA Read in start.vi

Possible reason(s):VISA: (Hex 0xBFFF006B) A framing error occurred during transfer.

I monitored all the three communications with Portmon. I have reported all the results in the spreadsheet file.

In my opinion something is wrong in the read part. It is also interesting that Mas-view and Matlab get the data in two different ways,but Labview cannot get the answer from the instrument. This makes me crazy !

Anyone can help me ? Whatever suggestion is wellcome, thanks.

Gianmarco