Agile LabVIEW

Ale914

as discussed in past " Is anybody using (or considering) agile development methods for G?"

this discussion was appear on Openg in 2005 but Labview realy change in this 2 years (Object Oriented, project, ect) so i want move up the topic.

I'm studying as XP ( an agile method ) can be applied in LabVIEW development but right now there are some "gray zone".

Infact XP, and also all the other agile methods, use testing code as core rule but LabVIEW dosen't have any testing framework like Junit for Java, this may be a great obstacle.

Ciao

QUOTE(Ale914 @ Aug 20 2007, 11:13 PM)

Infact XP, and also all the other agile methods, use testing code as core rule but LabVIEW dosen't have any testing framework like Junit for Java, this may be a great obstacle.

I'm not very familiar with Teststand but couldn't it be used as a unit testing framework as well? As far as I've understood Teststand allows writing LabVIEW based tests and automating any sequence of such tests. Unit tests are actually not that different from hardware tests etc. Of course the price of Teststand may not be suitable for pure unit testing purposes.

QUOTE(Ale914 @ Aug 21 2007, 06:13 AM)

Since the main goal for extreme programming is to reduce the cost of change, I find that a proper OO-analysis and OO-design solves that problem.

I've been using GOOP with inheritance since 2001 and I always start with a UML class diagram to visualize my needed classes and their dependencies to make sure changes are easy to add later on.

Below is a class diagram describing parts on my current project.

http://forums.lavag.org/index.php?act=attach&type=post&id=6692

//Mikael

I'm not very familiar with Teststand but couldn't it be used as a unit testing framework as well?

This is true but teststand is expensive and too complicated for unit testing, we need a easier tool for this.

I'm trying to develop a unit test framework based on lua and luaview

QUOTE(MikaelH @ Aug 20 2007, 05:39 PM)