serial

pjsaczek

Hi all, i'm realy sorry for only asking, and never answering questions. I'm still learning! and yes, I have looked through the archives

I'm trying to control and take data from a hounsfield testing machine through serial. I'm using the basic serial write and read VI. I'm able to control the machine through hyperterminal, but when using labview, sending the same strings results in nothing. i've done loopback tests with the labview VI which prove the port works, and labview is comunicating with it. I've even sent strings through labview through a serial wire to another computer with hyperterminal open with no problem. anyone have any ideas why I can't do it through labview at the moment? any help is greatly apreciated!!

Hello,

Have you tried this example that ships with LabVIEW, see attached.

Make sure you COM settings are correct (i.e. baud rate etc) .

I would also verfy you don't need to pull up one of the handshaking lines this would be found in your instrument documentation.

If your device is not seeing your commands try a different carrage return constant after the text you want to send. I notice in the example I posted a carriage return is not concatenated after the text. Sometimes the instrument nees a carrage return to recognize the commands. LabVIEW has end of line, carrage return, and line feed constant. Sometimes it doesn't matter what you put to send text. Sometimes your instrument will only recognize one. For example end of line works, plain carrage return doesn't.

In general that is all I can help with right now. If you could post your code that might help.

Thanks

Dan

QUOTE(ASTDan @ Sep 10 2007, 02:56 PM)