Problem re-entering an inner while loop

I have a While Loop that reads data from the serial port. I then have another While Loop within this that processes the data received from the port one line at a time - an iteration for each line. The inner loop uses the match pattern function and extracts values before passing on the 'after substring' to be processed in the next iteration. The condition of the inner loop is stop when this string length is 0. This works until the first time the string is 0 then I cannot re-enter the inner loop when more data needs processing. I think it must be the loop condition but I am relatively new to labview and am not sure the best way round it! Any suggestions would be great :-) Thanks, Liz

QUOTE(lizimunro @ Mar 6 2008, 01:10 PM)

I have a While Loop that reads data from the serial port. I then have another While Loop within this that processes the data received from the port one line at a time - an iteration for each line. The inner loop uses the match pattern function and extracts values before passing on the 'after substring' to be processed in the next iteration. The condition of the inner loop is stop when this string length is 0. This works until the first time the string is 0 then I cannot re-enter the inner loop when more data needs processing. I think it must be the loop condition but I am relatively new to labview and am not sure the best way round it! Any suggestions would be great :-) Thanks, Liz

Hi,

No offense, but I would suggest that you try to clean up the code a bit, since it will make debugging much easier.

* Try to keep wires straigh and visible (not hidden behind structures etc.)

* don't use sequence structures to determine the data flow, this is in most cases handled by the wires automatically.-

* add error handling, so that you can detect and handle errors, e.g. returned by the VISA read