lvoop class variable as child

I have the nagging feeling I'm overlooking something here...

I want to create a an instance of class "child" inheriting from a specific instance of class "parent", keeping "parent" values.

To clarify, lets say I have a class parent.lvclass with some attribute A which is initialized at some value.

After that, I want to create (a couple of) instances of child.lvclass /keeping/ the previously initialized value of A.

What I've seen sofar, is that if I try to directly upcast parent --> child; I get an error 1448 saying Bad type cast. LabVIEW cannot treat the run-time value of this LabVIEW class as an instance of the given LabVIEW class. Other casting (child --> parent --> child) lose the parent settings.

Any thoughts?

There might be better ways (I'm just getting into LVOOP myself), but can't you do it manually by creating a constructor VI, wiring the parent object into it and then unbundling and bundling to rebuild the data?

Or do you want to avoid having to do it manually?

QUOTE (Yen @ Apr 18 2008, 11:56 AM)

Or do you want to avoid having to do it manually?

Well, as much as possible. This is more or less how I do it now. The problem is, that if I add attributes to the member class later on, I have to modify the constructors of all child classes.

QUOTE (Dirk J. @ Apr 17 2008, 02:16 PM)

I have the nagging feeling I'm overlooking something here...

I want to create a an instance of class "child" inheriting from a specific instance of class "parent", keeping "parent" values.

To clarify, lets say I have a class parent.lvclass with some attribute A which is initialized at some value.

After that, I want to create (a couple of) instances of child.lvclass /keeping/ the previously initialized value of A.