Summation

NewUser

hi guys!

I'm relatively new to all of this and am trying to figure it out. I need to perform a summation from i=0 to M of i/(i+1)..since i starts at 0, there are m+1 terms. I'm using a for loop. I made N=25 (i want M to run to 25). I added i and 1 using a <+> and then divided i by (i+1)...that's all i have. if i just have an output, i get the last calculation instead of a summation of the entire thing. how can i fix this.

i apologize for my bad terminology, i really don't know what i'm talking about.

QUOTE (NewUser @ Nov 5 2008, 09:28 PM)

hi guys!

I'm relatively new to all of this and am trying to figure it out. I need to perform a summation from i=0 to M of i/(i+1)..since i starts at 0, there are m+1 terms. I'm using a for loop. I made N=25 (i want M to run to 25). I added i and 1 using a <+> and then divided i by (i+1)...that's all i have. if i just have an output, i get the last calculation instead of a summation of the entire thing. how can i fix this.

i apologize for my bad terminology, i really don't know what i'm talking about.

if i use my current configuration and try to attach the summation thing, it says i've connected terminals of two different types??

QUOTE (NewUser @ Nov 6 2008, 11:11 AM)

if i use my current configuration and try to attach the summation thing, it says i've connected terminals of two different types??

You are passing in a scalar value, but it requires an array (multiple scalar values).

Either add to the scalar value using the shift register in the loop to get the sum (your example)

Or get the sum of the array of elements using auto-indexing outside of the loop (as per example).

QUOTE (jgcode @ Nov 5 2008, 10:43 PM)

You are passing in a scalar value, but it requires an array (multiple scalar values).

Either add to the scalar value using the shift register in the loop to get the sum (your example)

Or get the sum of the array of elements using auto-indexing outside of the loop (as per example).