Q's - Whats all the fuss about

QUOTE (Mark Yedinak @ Apr 21 2009, 12:45 AM)

Done.

Creating parallel tasks in C or C++ is not a trivial task. You have to manually create your processes and threads. In LabVIEW this is all done for you. Drop two loops next to each other and you have parallel code. It is as simple as that.

I will concede Labview "parallelism" but I I think we are talking about concurrency and I would wholeheartedly agree that labview runs concurrent tasks but not parallel code. But it's not an area I'm an expert in and perhaps I'm being too pedantic (I don't really care how it works as long as it does...lol).

You are right though multithreading in C++ is not trivial. It is in Delphi though :)

. Since you already use notifiers it shouldn't be too difficult for you to use queues.

I see events rather differently.

Events (to me) are analogous to interrupts. Events can occur in any order and at any time and, on invocation, handler code is executed. A queue in Labview, however, does not generate events rather (from what you have described) you are taking the presence of data to mean that an event has occurred. You don't know what event has occurred until you have popped the element and decoded it The order is fixed (the position in the queue) and presumably, while this is happening, no other "events" can be processed so they cannot occur at any time (well perhaps they can occur at any time, but not be acted upon). The major difference between notifiers and queues is that notifiers can occur in any order and at any time and the "handler" (the section of code waiting) will be invoked.

I would be interested to see how you handle priorities with a queue. Lets say (for example) Event 1 must always be executed straight away (user presses Emergency Stop) but event 2 can wait (acquisition data available. And just to be annoying, lets say processing the acquisition data takes 10 minutes and you've got 100 of them in the queue when the e-stop comes in ;P ).