Inherit from 2 classes

I am starting to use inheritance and am facing the following problem:

I would like to inherit from 2 classes.

Here is my project:

post-2399-124936763312_thumb.png

I have a GPS class that reads out a GPS device, using one of two classes: USB and serial.

For storing the data I have two classes as well: TDMS and CSV.

Here is my current hierarchy:

post-2399-124936762448_thumb.png

Is this doable with one class or should I create an 'Input' class for the USB and serial classes and a 'Store' class for the CSV and TDMS classes?

Ton

I am starting to use inheritance and am facing the following problem:

I would like to inherit from 2 classes.

Ton

Hi Ton

I am fairly new to OOP but would still like to suggest the following from my current experiences:

Using the verification statement for inheritance can help:

Ask yourself, or jot down on paper, if the subclass (e.g USB) IS A more specific type of the superclass (e.g. GPS)

USB is a GPS (makes sense from a DAQ-type POV)

Serial is a GPS (makes sense from a DAQ-type POV)

TDMS is a GPS (does not makes sense)

CVS is a GPS (does not makes sense)

Therefore TDMS and CVS should not inherit from GPS. You may want to create another superclass that these two classes inherit from - e.g. a Log Interface - and this class could be have a association with GPS (either through aggregation or composition relationship etc...).

I have been told (in other posts) that design pattern knowledge is the way to go to improve class hierarchy design - this is something I am trying to achieve at the moment.

I have had similar issues as you along the way learning this (as I am sure others have too). Its all part of the fun IMO :)

(Endevo) Mike H mad a recently great post regarding Interfaces in LabVIEW - it is work checking out. And of course AQ's Design Patterns Document on ni.com.

Edited by jgcode
  • Like 1

Daklu,

A delegate pattern can also be used when the class definitions are different.

CP07.GIF