I got my CLD certificate today :)

It seems this will be my first post here :)

==============================

I just got my CLD certificate today so I think I need to write something about it.

I have been using LabVIEW since 1997. I still remember the pain to accidentally did something but was unable to "UNDO" it in LabVIEW. I don't know from where I got that idea that you can just prove your skills by your work, not by those "stupid" certificates...

I went to the LabVIEW seminar (I forgot the formal name of it) this March and somebody told me a quota from the mighty JK: A serious labVIEW programmer shoud be a CLA or on his/her way to achieve the CLA certificate --- may not the exact quota, but you get the idea. So I asked myself: besides having fun with it, am I serious to LabVIEW as well? The raffle winning for a free CLAD exam eliminated my last excuse.:lol:

I took the CLAD on late April. The reason it took that long is because I think the passing grade is 80%:oops: I got 90, which below my expectation.

Then I started writing the practice exams of CLD and I was shocked. Not the difficult level, but the way you SHOULD write the LabVIEW program. The state machine structure is so much better than the stacked sequence, which I was always using.

After “Car Wash”, “Traffic Light” and “Security System”, I’m using the same style to write new tests in my real works. It really helps.

I drove a full hour to NI’s Mountain View office, 30 minutes before the exam started. I found out the early arrival is a good thing. NI allows you to set up you programming environment before the exam! Another important thing is to learn the new version LabVIEW. My company is using LabVIEW 8.6 but in exam you have to use NI’s version, apparently they are using the latest LabVIEW 2009.