Load shared variables from file at boot before log on

Dear all,

I've got a question regarding networked variables combined with Web Services, how to load these variables from a file at boot. I'm not sure if this is the right place as I'm new to Lava.

Our problem is the following, I hope some more experienced programmer can give me some hints in the right direction. Any help would be great.

The application consists of some RESTful web service vi's which are called using HTTP and a Labview management program. All this uses the same shared variables so they are of the type Network-published shared variable (see this thread). Some configuration is stored in the variables and this is edited using the Labview program. When a configuration change is made, the variables are written to an XML file, works ok. The web VI's read and write also to these variables but their values do not need to be saved when the machine is rebooted so they are not saved in XML.

The web service currently runs on LabVIEW 2010 on a Windows Server 2008 R2 system, finally the application should run using only the LV2010 runtime and NI web server.

What I want to do is read the XML at boot into the shared variables so I'm sure the configuration is read in correctly. I have a VI to do this. This initialization has to be done before the first HTTP call to a VI is made, so at boot time when the NI web server starts.

On Windows XP I could compile the initialization VI to a Labview exe and run it as a service using srvany.exe (tool from Microsoft), no problem. However in Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 srvany.exe has gone.

Does anybody have an idea how to create a Labview exe which is compatible with windows services, and can be installed using sc.exe? By putting the load VI in the service exe the initialization problem would be solved.

As far as I know a service exe needs to response to certain start / stop / reload calls issued by the service manager.