PARALLEL / REAL-TIME DATABASE UPDATES

translucent

I'm a LabVIEW beginner and would like to know what you think about using LabVIEW to make real-time and parallel updates to a SQL Server database. I presently use a serial overnight process to update my SQL Server backend database using stored procedures, MS Access, and VBA. There are a few hundred steps and currently the only way to update the database is to run the update process sequentially from beginning to end for the entire database. Since this takes about 8 hours a day, I can only run it once a day. My initial impression is that LabVIEW might be a nice way to represent the dependencies in the data, but the number of processes might be overwhelming to look at graphically in LabVIEW. Thank you.

[Queue ShaunR]

Thanks Priscilla biggrin.gif

I'm a LabVIEW beginner and would like to know what you think about using LabVIEW to make real-time and parallel updates to a SQL Server database. I presently use a serial overnight process to update my SQL Server backend database using stored procedures, MS Access, and VBA. There are a few hundred steps and currently the only way to update the database is to run the update process sequentially from beginning to end for the entire database. Since this takes about 8 hours a day, I can only run it once a day. My initial impression is that LabVIEW might be a nice way to represent the dependencies in the data, but the number of processes might be overwhelming to look at graphically in LabVIEW. Thank you.

I'm not really sure what you have in mind here. Maybe your current VBA application is sequential because the operations are indeed sequential (no point re-indexing a table before you delete a load of rows for example).