WaterMarking Images

Hi, i am a student, totally new to labview...

currently working on a watermarking problem

I got a picture and watermark.. need to fuse them together in the midband co-efficients of the 2d dct output

the watermark is to be multiplied by a PN sequence (code of 1's and 0s)

here's what i did, i opened a JPEG, unbundled it and made 2d dct

need to make a mask with the midband components of an 8X8 dct image

midband = [ 0 0 0 1 1 1 1 0

0 0 1 1 1 1 0 0

0 1 1 1 1 0 0 0

1 1 1 1 0 0 0 0

1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0

1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0

1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 ]

I wrote the midband mask as an empty array

now need to apply the mask to the dct ... so that i can add to the selected bits (1s) some value

pls pm me or mail me (magedfawzy@hotmail.com.. so that i know i got a reply

thanks

Any assisstance is appreciated.. especially if there are examples that can make a watermark..

i searched the whole net for any image processing using DCT but couldn't find anything...

is labview capable of doing a watermark.. ? is it the best choice to do it .. especially that i want to embed it later on a pda

Thanks again in advance

M@ged

hmm, i dont understand much about your problem, but I did some picture manipulation a while back, and maybe I have a hint.

if you load a jpeg you can connect the "unflatten pixmap.vi" which has a 2D U32 Array output. This output is quasi a "bitmap" with the color values (RGB [24bit] mapped to an U32 integer). the uppler left pixel of your image is in the array on position 0,0, the lower right pixel is the lower right element of the 2D array.

If you want to embed a watermark - as much as I understand - you have to slightly modify the colors in the selected area. you can choose the area in the picture by selecting the corresponding elements of the array.

I have no idea how the algorithm for the color manipulation works. If you have one, I would be glad, if you can tell me a little bit more, I am still searching.