Are you a freelance or one person company?

Irene_he

Hello, I think some people here maybe a freelance or one person company or independant consultant. I would like to hear how do you feel about working alone by yourself? What keep you doing this way and how long do you hold on it and if giving up, why? What is good and what is bad about being a freelance? The good part for me is the freedom to schedule the time and work/create things that I like. Bad part is you are alone, no inspiration by others and missing the fun of talking with co-workers etc.

What is your experiences?

Irene

Irene,

I work as a freelancer, too.

I think it's the hard way, e.g. last year I worked 38 weeks as a resident engineer away from home at 4 different companies, you have to solve all problems on you own. Scedule time? :lol: if you speak in terms like "ok, one weekend in the month is free for book keeping", I can agree. The german translation is "selbstst

Hi Irene:

I've been consulting for a bit over ten years now. The answers I always give:

The best thing about being an independent consultant is that you don't have to put up with the nonsense from the accounting department and the MIS department.

The worst thing about being an independent consultant is that you have to do your own books and fix your own computer.

Often times I work at home, when I do, a bad commute is if I trip over the cat on the way from the kitchen to my office and spill coffee on my bedroom slippers.

But, more seriously: