What is good practise?

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to LabVIEW. Can anyone point me to something which defines good practise?

Basically, when I'm making VI's, I come up with a way of achieving what I want, but I'm never sure if it is a good approach / if what I'm doing is good practise. For example recently I needed to keep track of how many times part of a case structure was executed. So I hid a numeric control and used that to store the value and used property nodes in the case structure to increment the count. I've got plenty of examples of things like this which seem really messy, should I be worried?!

Thanks

I know where you are coming from, I have been doing LabVIEW now for 6 or 7 months and I still look at code I have done and think, is that really the best way to do it ? and certainly there must be a better way to lay it out.

I actually thing LabVIEW is a hard language to learn in that respect, to make the transition from being able to write something that works and something that is efficient and a pleasure to look at, unless you are lucky enough to work with a existing pro who can guide your hand.

I am a lot better now than I was after just doing it for two months, but I still have a long way to go. I think it is a matter of practise make improvements.

I have picked up a lot from the LAVA forums and looking at examples and I would recommend two books that I have found very useful

0131458353_xs.jpg

The LabVIEW Style Bookby Peter A.President, Bloomy Controls, Inc. Blume - President, Bloomy Controls, Inc.Publisher: Prentice HallPub Date: February 27, 2007Print ISBN-10: 0-13-145835-3Print ISBN-13: 978-0-13-145835-2Pages: 400Slots: 2.0

http://safari.oreilly.com/0131458353

and

0131856723_xs.jpg

LabVIEW for Everyone: Graphical Programming Made Easy and Fun, Third Editionby Jeffrey Travis, Jim KringPublisher: Prentice HallPub Date: July 27, 2006Print ISBN-10: 0-13-185672-3Print ISBN-13: 978-0-13-185672-1Pages: 1032Slots: 2.0