Labview related career advice needed. Please help!

mzu

I am a graduate student, doing my PhD in experimental physics. I am finishing my PhD in ~4 month, but I became disappointed in academic career.

My PhD is a experimental one, so 

•  several scientific apparatuses were built, and Labview was used in many.
  • most of them distributed (many instruments (20+), several computers (2-3.)
  • many required precise synchronization between different instruments
  • including real-time feedback based on image processing
  • software development culture was maintained:

all code kept in source control (subversion was used),

requirements of specifications were composed for each project,

technical documentation was properly maintained for each project.

• Projects consisted of 500+ VIs, including multiple state machines communicating by sophisticated protocols.
  • enjoyed every step from development of architecture development to implementation,
  • many pieces of software became standards de-facto for the lab
  • supervised development of couple less complex projects in academic environment.

What else?

Around 6 years ago had a job, where I developed number of kernel drivers for Linux and Windows.

Had some taste of embedded development (C, C++, asm for MIPS R4000) for VxWorks like operating system. Developed network card driver and implemented a special purpose low level protocol. Was responsible for quality assurance on one of the projects. Was responsible for communicating with hardware engineers on another one. Debugged multiple hardware-software issues.

During last ~8 years knowledge of C, C++, and general Windows/Linux architecture allowed me to connect multiple (20+) devices to Labview which did not have native driver (different flavors of cameras, nano-positioners, special controllers, raster output device, etc)