Custom Drivers for 3rd Party PCI cards in LVRT

AlexA

Hey guys,

I'm just beginning to feel out what would be required to write a driver for a 3rd party PCI card in LVRT. The outline is thus:

I have a laser interferometer card from Agilent, there are no drivers that I'm aware of for pulling information from the card directly into the RT system. My lab has been using a custom built hardware interface which taps off the hardware-out lines on the card when it is installed in a windows box, and reads the lines into an FPGA card in the RT box.

This means we have to maintain two systems, a windows box to host the card, and an RT box where we're doing all our control. I'd like to simplify the system by doing whatever is necessary (driver?) to install the card direct into the LVRT box.

My initial google has turned up resources for Veristand (I'm not familiar with it at all, and assume it isn't what I want), and not much else.

The install disc I have provides an API (headers with function declarations and register maps) but doesn't expose the functions themselves (they're in a compiled dll I think) There is also a pretty comprehensive manual about the register layout. My RT operating system is Pharlap, which can apparently call functions from a .dll (linky). The driver is a .sys file, could it be as simple as ftp'ing this into the right place along with the .dll and using "Call Library Function"? I couldn't find any information about what type of driver file Pharlap (and LVRT) expect, but I suspect it's not .sys (too good to be true).

Anyway, I'm wondering if someone could point me in the right direction? Possibly with a link to any tuts/white papers about LVRT driver development?

Many thanks for your time!

Kind regards,

Alex

Rolf is the man you need to talk to.

But here is my limited tuppence.