LabVIEW Built DLLs and Library Versions

I've never built a DLL using LabVIEW before, but am starting to think this may be the way to go for a component I'm working on. However I have one concern where my google-fu is failing me and thought I'd lob this one over the fence since at least of the lava gurus here likely knows the answer.

Consider this situation:

My DLL is built and includes SharedLibrary.lvlib (version 1).

My EXE is built and includes SharedLibrary.lvlib (version 2).

That is both the DLL and EXE reference the same library, all be it incompatible versions. Each fully includes all the dependencies they need to run on their own. With respect to each library version, the namespaces are identical-- that is we don't have SharedLibraryVersion1.lvlib and SharedLibraryVersion2.lvlib, but two different versions of SharedLibrary.lvlib.

Now let's say my EXE needs to dynamically load my DLL: Do I have a problem? Am I going to run into any weird namespace collision issues? I would hope everything should be locked properly behind their respective boundaries, but...

If this is a problem it's no big deal, I could always change the DLL into another executable, but I'd rather not as it makes a bit of a mess of passing data in and out.

• Like 1
I've never built a DLL using LabVIEW before, but am starting to think this may be the way to go for a component I'm working on. However I have one concern where my google-fu is failing me and thought I'd lob this one over the fence since at least of the lava gurus here likely knows the answer.

Consider this situation:

That is both the DLL and EXE reference the same library, all be it incompatible versions. Each fully includes all the dependencies they need to run on their own. With respect to each library version, the namespaces are identical-- that is we don't have SharedLibraryVersion1.lvlib and SharedLibraryVersion2.lvlib, but two different versions of SharedLibrary.lvlib.