Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Cluster border thickness


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 vugie

vugie

    Extremely Active

  • Premium Member
  • 381 posts
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
  • Version:LabVIEW 2009
  • Since:2006

Posted 16 September 2009 - 08:53 AM

I'm facing similar problem as in this topic.
I have a compact cluster of few controls and I would like to get listbox-like behavior with it. The natural way to do it is array of clusters. But even with transparent color the cluster frame still has its 4 px thickness, which makes 8 px gap between elements in array. I can't afford this as my cluster without a frame has 10 px height.
Did anyone found any new way to overcome it? I have 8.2 - maybe in newer versions anything has changed at this field?
What could be an alternative way to get listbox-like behavior without element gaps?

I want to get sth like this (without these gaps):
Export Materials_FP.png

(it is just a sketch - I know that I can remove frame from individual controls, clip them a little, etc. - but still 8 px gap cannot be removed)

Edited by vugie, 16 September 2009 - 08:56 AM.


#2 MikaelH

MikaelH

    The 500 club

  • Premium Member
  • 657 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • Version:LabVIEW 2012
  • Since:1996

Posted 16 September 2009 - 10:15 AM

I'm sorry to say that you have to go for the Picture Control.
It's lot of work but quite fun :-)
2009-09-16 20-09-43.png
Cheers,
Mikael


#3 Mellroth

Mellroth

    The 500 club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 581 posts
  • Version:LabVIEW 2013
  • Since:1995

Posted 16 September 2009 - 10:45 AM

Did anyone found any new way to overcome it? I have 8.2 - maybe in newer versions anything has changed at this field?
What could be an alternative way to get listbox-like behavior without element gaps?

I want to get sth like this (without these gaps):
Export Materials_FP.png

(it is just a sketch - I know that I can remove frame from individual controls, clip them a little, etc. - but still 8 px gap cannot be removed)


This has been asked for before and thanks to Aristos Queue we have a solution (only on LAVA :yes:).

http://lavag.org/top...dpost__p__28056

/J
  • vugie likes this

#4 vugie

vugie

    Extremely Active

  • Premium Member
  • 381 posts
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
  • Version:LabVIEW 2009
  • Since:2006

Posted 16 September 2009 - 11:12 AM

This has been asked for before and thanks to Aristos Queue we have a solution (only on LAVA :yes:).

http://lavag.org/top...dpost__p__28056

/J


Thanks! It's really cool.
Of course LAVA lost the attachment, but I found it posted at OpenG forums: http://forums.openg....mode=linearplus

And here is how the control looks like now:
Load Materials_FP2.png

Edited by vugie, 16 September 2009 - 11:17 AM.


#5 jgcode

jgcode

    LabVIEW Renegade

  • OpenG
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,407 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Version:LabVIEW 2009
  • Since:2005

Posted 16 September 2009 - 11:25 PM

Thanks! It's really cool.
Of course LAVA lost the attachment, but I found it posted at OpenG forums: http://forums.openg....mode=linearplus

And here is how the control looks like now:
Load Materials_FP2.png


Can someone please post the hack, the old LAVA links seem dead and I am having trouble (?) getting it from openG.

Cheers :beer_mug:

#6 François Normandin

François Normandin

    Son of Scotland

  • JKI
  • 1,088 posts
  • Location:Oakland, CA
  • Version:LabVIEW 2013
  • Since:1999

Posted 17 September 2009 - 12:02 AM

You've got to be logged in to download it.

Attached File  Borderless Cluster.ctl   5.19KB   667 downloads
  • jgcode likes this

François [fr??swa], CLA


#7 jgcode

jgcode

    LabVIEW Renegade

  • OpenG
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,407 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Version:LabVIEW 2009
  • Since:2005

Posted 17 September 2009 - 12:11 AM

You've got to be logged in to download it.

Attached File  Borderless Cluster.ctl   5.19KB   667 downloads


Am logged in!! But still not working. :(
I think there was a problem with my account activation??

Thanks heaps

#8 tnt

tnt

    Very Active

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 86 posts
  • Location:Belgium
  • Version:LabVIEW 8.5
  • Since:1999

Posted 17 September 2009 - 09:59 AM

Attached File  Borderless Cluster.ctl   5.19KB   667 downloads

This is the cluster with the 1px-border,
in post http://lavag.org/top...dpost__p__28056 AQ mentioned posting a real borderless (0px-border) version.
I have not found this borderless cluster..., can someone also repost this ctl? Posted Image

THX,
TNT

Edited by tnt, 17 September 2009 - 10:00 AM.


#9 Mellroth

Mellroth

    The 500 club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 581 posts
  • Version:LabVIEW 2013
  • Since:1995

Posted 17 September 2009 - 10:44 AM

I have not found this borderless cluster..., can someone also repost this ctl?


I checked all my backups, but no luck.
Let's hope AQ can repost his hack.

/J

#10 vugie

vugie

    Extremely Active

  • Premium Member
  • 381 posts
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
  • Version:LabVIEW 2009
  • Since:2006

Posted 17 September 2009 - 10:45 AM

0 px border would be very hard (if no impossible) to do right-click on it. I think the most optimal solution would be to make such cluster control which clips its content with outside rectangle. Then even thick border made transparent would truly appear as no border (not clipping out controls it overlaps with), still being clickable. Also any border thickness (up to 4) might be applied then by "pasting at same size" any rectangular decoration.

AQ: possible?

#11 Jeffrey Habets

Jeffrey Habets

    Very Active

  • Premium Member
  • 192 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Version:LabVIEW 2013
  • Since:1997

Posted 17 September 2009 - 11:44 AM

I think these two are the ones that AQ posted originally.. (I safely tucked them away in my svn repo. :) )

I think these are saved in 8.6.

Attached Files


  • ESST likes this
---
Jeffrey
VIT

#12 vugie

vugie

    Extremely Active

  • Premium Member
  • 381 posts
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
  • Version:LabVIEW 2009
  • Since:2006

Posted 17 September 2009 - 11:57 AM

I think these two are the ones that AQ posted originally.. (I safely tucked them away in my svn repo. :) )

I think these are saved in 8.6.


Great. They work in 8.2

#13 jgcode

jgcode

    LabVIEW Renegade

  • OpenG
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,407 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Version:LabVIEW 2009
  • Since:2005

Posted 17 September 2009 - 02:27 PM

I think these two are the ones that AQ posted originally.. (I safely tucked them away in my svn repo. :) )

I think these are saved in 8.6.


What is the functional difference between the three controls now posted?
They all look like they give the same effect to my eye.

???

#14 vugie

vugie

    Extremely Active

  • Premium Member
  • 381 posts
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
  • Version:LabVIEW 2009
  • Since:2006

Posted 17 September 2009 - 02:54 PM

What is the functional difference between the three controls now posted?
They all look like they give the same effect to my eye.

???


The difference will be clearly visible when you put something into a cluster, set "Size to fit" and then make an array of clusters. It is a difference between 1 px and 2 px element gap.

#15 Daklu

Daklu

    Bringing the Fu to you

  • Premium Member
  • 1,830 posts
  • Location:Seattle
  • Version:LabVIEW 2009
  • Since:2006

Posted 17 September 2009 - 03:19 PM

The difference will be clearly visible when you put something into a cluster, set "Size to fit" and then make an array of clusters. It is a difference between 1 px and 2 px element gap.

I get no visual difference between OnePixelBorder and TopLeftBorder. Functional difference is the TopLeftBorder cluster is harder to select--I have to go to the top or left border to do so since there is no bottom or right border.

Certified LabVIEW Architect
Dak's First Law of Problem Solving: If the solution looks simple, I don't know enough about the problem.

Yes, the QSM is flexible. So is Jello. That doesn't make it good construction material.

There are two secrets to success:
Secret #1 - Never tell everything you know.


#16 jgcode

jgcode

    LabVIEW Renegade

  • OpenG
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,407 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Version:LabVIEW 2009
  • Since:2005

Posted 17 September 2009 - 11:01 PM

The difference will be clearly visible when you put something into a cluster, set "Size to fit" and then make an array of clusters. It is a difference between 1 px and 2 px element gap.


Of course this is what I did when I said I could not see any difference.
It all looks the same to me
My eye maybe out tho?? :wacko:

#17 Mellroth

Mellroth

    The 500 club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 581 posts
  • Version:LabVIEW 2013
  • Since:1995

Posted 18 September 2009 - 04:27 AM

Of course this is what I did when I said I could not see any difference.
It all looks the same to me
My eye maybe out tho?? :wacko:


Can it be that the hack is no longer working in LV 8.6 and higher?
(I think the original was made in LV8.5)

/J

#18 jgcode

jgcode

    LabVIEW Renegade

  • OpenG
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,407 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Version:LabVIEW 2009
  • Since:2005

Posted 18 September 2009 - 04:36 AM

Can it be that the hack is no longer working in LV 8.6 and higher?
(I think the original was made in LV8.5)

/J


Sorry, to correct my grammer...

I can see the difference between the native LabVIEW cluster and the three posted .ctls when I create arrays of these clusters.
I cannot see any difference between each of the three posted .ctls when I create arrays of these clusters.

#19 Mellroth

Mellroth

    The 500 club

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 581 posts
  • Version:LabVIEW 2013
  • Since:1995

Posted 18 September 2009 - 05:45 AM

Sorry, to correct my grammer...


No need to correct your grammar (but probably mine ;))
I just meant that there might be a difference in LV8.5 and 8.6, that prevents the 0 pixel version from working in LV8.6 and higher.

/J

#20 jgcode

jgcode

    LabVIEW Renegade

  • OpenG
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,407 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Version:LabVIEW 2009
  • Since:2005

Posted 18 September 2009 - 06:05 AM

No need to correct your grammar (but probably mine ;))
I just meant that there might be a difference in LV8.5 and 8.6, that prevents the 0 pixel version from working in LV8.6 and higher.

/J


Ok, I misread your post :P