Multiple While Loops

Hey All

I would like to know how Labview handles multiple "while loops" by default? I am not very experienced with Labview and definitely have no experience with the fundamentals of loop timing and such.

I've done a search of the forums for "multiple while loops" and I couldn't find any simple answers. To give an example which will hopefully clarify exactly what I'm asking. If I drop two independent while loops into a VI, independent in the sense that neither while loop requires any information from the other to proceed to some conclusion, in what order will they execute? How can I control this order?

Regards

Alex

[...] If I drop two independent while loops into a VI, independent in the sense that neither while loop requires any information from the other to proceed to some conclusion, in what order will they execute? How can I control this order?

1) They'll execute when all of their inputs are satisfied; if nothing forces one to start first then it's up to the Operating System to decide.  Although I believe the winner is (practically) arbitrary and you can't depend on the order.  You're better off forcing an order if it's important to you.

2) If you want to force one of them to run after the other you need to force a data dependency between the two of them, or you can throw style to the wind :lol:  and use a Sequence Structure :nono:.

post-7534-125953923904_thumb.png

One advantage to the first option is that the error cluster is passed throughout the program.  You are passing your error cluster throughout your program, right?

Ahem, I haven't bothered with error clusters in general so far, though I did use it once in the same manner as your first example (I was copying a labview example). Is the use of sequence structures as opposed to "data dependency" a purely stylistic choice or are there programmatic reasons (efficiency etc) for using data dependency?

Thank you for your answer btw, it was exactly what I needed to know.