Git delete branch after merging Pull Request

So I am pretty new to GitHub and pull requests (I still am not sure I 100% understand the concept of local and remotes having totally different branches either!)

But what is this all about? I have done a bit of digging and it seems the current best practice is indeed to delete the branch when it is no longer needed. This is also a totally strange concept to me. I presume the branch they are talking about here is the remote branch?

image.png.6dde34da325374f65f3bc8ccb21dd79e.png

Confused...

2 hours ago, Neil Pate said:

But what is this all about? I have done a bit of digging and it seems the current best practice is indeed to delete the branch when it is no longer needed. This is also a totally strange concept to me. I presume the branch they are talking about here is the remote branch?

You got it right. "Delete branch" will delete the branch on your fork. It does not affect the clone on your computer. The idea is that every pull request has its own branch, which, once merged into master, can safely be deleted.

2 hours ago, Neil Pate said:

I still am not sure I 100% understand the concept of local and remotes having totally different branches either!

This can indeed be confusing if you are used to centralized VCSs.

In Git, any repository can be remote. When you clone a Git repository, the source becomes remote to the clone. It doesn't matter if the remote is on your computer or on another server. You can even have multiple remote repositories if you wanted to.

You'll notice that the clone - by default - only includes the master branch. Git allows you to pull other branches if you want, but that is not mandatory. Likewise, you can have as many branches of your own without having to push them to the remote (sometimes you can't because they are read-only).