RT simulation on my computer

jlau

Dear all,

Hello ! This is my first post so I introduce myself :

I am a French engineer developing Labview test applications since 2 years for embedded systems (mainly avionics).

I have to use Labview RT to drive a real time target.

I join here a print-screen of the project.

My problem is : I do not have yet the physical target (a PXI chassis). So do you know if there is a mean to simulate the RT Target on my computer. If yes which ?

I believe something like the DAQ simulated devices might exist …

Thanks a lot for your help.

http://forums.lavag.org/index.php?act=attach&type=post&id=6337

Jean

QUOTE(Neville D @ Jul 10 2007, 11:58 AM)

Hi Jean,

there is no means to simulate an RT device, but your RT code should run even on your desktop PC (so long as you have equivalent hardware). What sort of application is it? DAQ? Vision?

Neville.

Adding to Neville's reply...

You should be able to create simulated devices in MAX to cover the hardware req's.

Ben

QUOTE(Neville D @ Jul 10 2007, 10:58 AM)

there is no means to simulate an RT device, but your RT code should run even on your desktop PC (so long as you have equivalent hardware).

That's not exactly true. I have one application that uses RT Set Date and Time. When I open the VI from the Project Explorer and targeted to the RT target, it opens fine. If it is targeted to my desktop machine, or I open it by double-clicking the VI in an Explorer window, LabVIEW searches the entire VI search path for the Set Date VI, but doesn't find it. The definition of <vi.lib> seems to change depending on what the target is. This isn't a particularly big deal, but I find it annoying.

If parts of your code will not work on your PC and need the real time target you can use the Conditional Disable Structure to disable parts of you block diagram using the TARGET_TYPE symbol.

See the "Conditional Disable Structure.lvproj" example in the NI example Finder.