Synchronizing digital and analog waveforms

Hi all, 

I am new to using LabVIEW and I was hoping to get some help with the issues I am having with my VI. I am working with a myDAQ that I have set to produce an analog output and also acquire data from a digital and analog input. I am then graphing that data on a mixed signals graph, which is working properly. However, the two waveforms on the graph are not synced. It seems that the digital input is off by approximately 0.05 seconds and I'm not quite sure how to fix this. I've tried using two separate DAQs but this didn't make a difference. I also thought that maybe I needed to use sample clocks for each of the inputs, however when I try using a sample clock with the digital input I get an error. 

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to approach this issue? I've attached a photo of my current VI. 

Anything would help, thanks!

post-51848-0-30781500-1399331447_thumb.p

Welcome to the forums.  And congratulations on using a myDAQ with the DAQmx API instead of DAQ Assistant, or some other myDAQ express VI.

What you need to do is as you suggested, create a common clock that is shared between both tasks.  So you would make an analog task, and for the timing source provide an internal clock channel.  Depending on your hardware there are several and some are more flexible then others.  You then make a digital reading task that uses the same clock source, then you start your analog and digital task.  Neither one will take samples until the clock source you created has started, but when it does it will take samples from both, at the same time.  So the third task you need to start, is the one associated with the common clock source.

Another method that I just found by searching I've never tried but looks like it creates the analog task, then uses that clock from that task to read from the digital task.  It can be found here.

https://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-12185