Hardware necessary for project

Bulletman

Dear All,

My name is Dennis aka "bulletman". I'm a chemical engineer and at this moment

I have an experimental setup that I would like to control with Labview. At this moment

everything is done manually. The setup contains the following things:

3x Balances RS232

6x Mass Flow Controller, RS232

1x Mass Flow Reader, RS232

3x Temperature Control, RS232

2x ISCO pumps, RS232

2x Characterization machines, RS232

One week ago, I started to be interested in using labview and I did some online tutorials and played around in the programm itself.

I think the program itself is not that hard to use, but I don't have any experiences with data acquisition so far. At this moment I'm not

sure which kind of hardware I need for my purpose. If I understand correctly, I need a DAQ card which is connected to a box with multiple

RS232 connections. By addressing the cards com port and the respective channel (every channel is anothere RS232 port?) it becomes possible

to read/control the experiment? Please help me out!

Next, Do you guys think it is duable (for an in-experienced person like me) to write a labview program that is able to control/read the MFC's, TC's, pumps etc.

Thanks,

Dennis

Hi Dennis,

it's totally doable. It's in fact much easier than you think it could be. Installing a card to multiplex your RS-232 ports will give you as many COM ports you need. Use Measurement Automation Explorer to configure them and use Instrument I/O Assistant to get started. (Instrument I/O palette)

QUOTE (jgcode @ Nov 25 2008, 08:34 AM)

Which ever hardware platform you choose, from your current spec you will need at least serial 17 ports.

Or daisy-chaining the equipments if some are compatible with this control method.