Developing OpenG while working for a company

I am interested in helping in developing OpenG. My problem is that I work for a company that automatically owns everything I do. I plan on making an agreement with them so that I can develop open source. I am an engineer, not a lawyer. Is there any advice for what should or should not be in such an agreement and any specific wording to be aware of?

Well. The glib answer is find a company that doesn't implement slavery (we own you, everything you do, everything you think and everything your cat thinks!). But pragamatically I don't think there is a particular recipe because it depends (on which country, who they are, whats in your contract, whether you used their resources etc).

Perhaps this will at least point you towards the right questions and some of the issues involved.

http://answers.onsta...-st/20136#20136

I've generally found, most companies don't care until you produce something they want. So they would let you do it then want to take ownership citing your contract etc. In terms of contracts, the bit in your contract that says they own you has to be mitigated, but that may be an "unfair contract" clause in some western countries anyway.

The biggest problem with LabVIEW is that not many people can afford to buy the software outside of thier working environment (the classic arguement for stating ownership). But I understand some people have negotiated with thier emplyoyers that the employer buys the software for them rather than the company (and they keep the license when they leave). However. I would hardly say that was usual.

I am interested in helping in developing OpenG. My problem is that I work for a company that automatically owns everything I do. I plan on making an agreement with them so that I can develop open source. I am an engineer, not a lawyer. Is there any advice for what should or should not be in such an agreement and any specific wording to be aware of?