Over my head. Need help on designing a framework.

Mojito

Hi all,

I've been maintaining and improving a LabVIEW project which controls and automates a prototype microscope array for 2 years. I'm an engineering apprentice so I don't have that much experience with LabVIEW.

The current framework of the project is a simple "Producer/Consumer" which has served well but is no longer future proof and scalable. I want to revamp the program which is quite big and complex. And I need help since this will be the first time of actually starting a real project from the ground up.

The most modular and scalable framework I found was the QMH (Queued Message Handler). It's similar to the basic P/C loop and has the possibility to have multiple parallel consumer loops. But I have no experience on starting from 0.

If any you have docs or give advice on starting the project would be appreciated. Especially something on codding with a QMH structure would be helpful.

Cheers from France!

Many of us aren't fans of QMH. I'm somewhat ambivalent about them but a couple of points I will make from your description.

1. Future proofing is marketing speak.

Adding complexity for something that is not required and just a guess as to future requirements is unproductive, will bite you and adds nothing except complexity. Design your system for the requirements now and iteratively innovate when necessary to encompass new requirements. Experienced engineers will recognise patterns in solutions and code in a way that they know will be easy to modify in the future but the key point there is easy to modify, not seamlessly integrate.

2.If you are going to have multiple consumers of your messages/data then queue based message handling is probably the wrong solution.