PLease help a newbie with a "Basics I" course question

richlega

I am working through the LabView Basics I course and I have run aground on this example.

The Flash example and quiz in the Dataflow directory of the exercises shows the attached code and poses the question: "Which Tone Measurements will execute first?

I immediately answered incorrectly and was slightly confused by the correct answer.

I have asked four "seasoned" LV programmers in the office (I am the newbie here with nearly 25 years experience in C programming) the same quiz question and they all answered incorrectly (one insisted that NI's answer is wrong).

I understand the answer and the position of the language definition, but my "logic brain" is still stumbling over this.

Please discuss.

post-8916-1204226154.jpg?width=400

Could you add a poll? (or is that Premium only?)

I'd go for answer 3!

It could be possible that the thread calling the upper tone will be frustrated by Windows (since it calls some dll somewhere), and that the filter will go first and the lower tone might get a headstart.

Ton

QUOTE(richlega @ Feb 28 2008, 11:18 AM)

I am working through the LabView Basics I course and I have run aground on this example.

The Flash example and quiz in the Dataflow directory of the exercises shows the attached code and poses the question: "Which Tone Measurements will execute first?

The answer that seems obvious is "the one near the top", but I agree with Ton. Once the data branches there is no way of knowing the precise execution order of the two parallel branches. Especially in a non deterministic operating system.

I agree with Ton. There is no way to tell which one of the two executes first.

"Most likely" the top one will execute first, but "most likely" is not "definitely".

The only way you could tell "definitely" which one executes first is if one of the two took an output from the other as an input (or was contained in a structure that needs an output from the other).