Indexing combo Box for both value and String

Hi All,
I'm new to LabVIEW and overall programming. I wanted to use a combo box to extract the string and associated value to use later for calculation and presentation.
I have come up with this one below, which works fine and is very modular (I can just add the solvent info, and it is good to go with no other change, unlike implementation as case structure). However, I wanted to know if this is good or is there a better (more straightforward) way to achieve the same thing?

Cheers,

Mahbod

image.png.e5e3eaa14f5455aa4b7bab1838226aa2.png

There are many ways to "skin that cat", but these are the routes I would probably use myself:

Using a Text Ring instead of a Combo Box (The RingText.Text property outputs the string of the selected item):

Example.png.89f243d252b3587a729bf3c1c2de9a0c.png

If you're set on using a combo box method, here would be my approach (the Text.Text property outputs the string value of the selected item):

Example2.png.c281bd7e8b31fd52e8024c60e4e8467c.png

Edited by Bryan

I'm not sure if I'm missing something, but I don't believe that the code is going to work reliably or as intended, unless I'm not understanding how this SubVI is to be used.

Updating combo box items/values in a subVI doesn't really make sense (unless you're passing a reference to a front panel control into it).  Even then, you'd have to update the combo box items/values before the they're selected by the  user - then use the user's selection to search for and return the Density/Refractive index values.  

I have a lot going on right now, so I'm unable to provide an example at the moment.

Hi Bryan, 

You are absolutely correct the file processing and updating the combo box will happen out side, and the info is will be send to the vi (but since the rest of the app is not developed I left it here to test if it works fine).