Configuring Git to work with LVCompare and LVMerge

Has anyone actually configured Git to work with LVCompare or LVMerge?  (I've seen some threads on various boards saying it "should be something like" <x>, but it isn't quite <x> and I haven't found anywhere that someone has actually described it successfully.)

Notes:

I know how to configure TortoiseSVN to work with LVCompare and LVMerge.  My new employer is moving to Git (some good, some bad in that, in my opinion, but that is another topic).

I have been using Git for a few months now with reasonable success and decided I should try to set up graphical differencing.  [OK, in practice I've rarely used graphical differencing for any practical purpose, and graphical merging probably never for any actual code.]  Anyway, I think I've learned some things trying to figure out how to get this to work--but I don't have it working yet.

I use the Atlassian SourceTree client at present (and sometimes the shell).  For the purposes of this discussion it might be more helpful to share the relevant text in the .gitconfig file (and any associated scripts, if necessary).

As others have mentioned, Git itself (SourceTree similarly) does not distinguish which diff tool to call according to the file extension.  This seems like it could be a significant drawback.

What I have tried:

I added this (and variants of it) to my .gitconfig file:

[difftool "LVCompare"]     path = C:Program Files (x86)National InstrumentsSharedLabVIEW CompareLVCompare.exe     keepBackup = false     trustExitCode = false[difftool "LVCompare"]     cmd = "C:Program Files (x86)National InstrumentsSharedLabVIEW CompareLVCompare.exe"  "$LOCAL" "$REMOTE"[diff]    tool = LVCompare

SourceTree reports errors on start-up, so don't use this!  Lol!

Maybe I need to add a script, too.  I'm not sure that I'm really all that close, honestly.

[bigger question: Why is this difficult in the first place?]

• Like 2